top of page

History of Michigan Ministry Network

Michigan was formerly a part of the Central District of the Assemblies of God incorporating 

Ohio, Indiana and Michigan. Steps were taken in 1944 to bring about a division of the territory 

so that Michigan could function as a separate District. This was consummated in the Council 

Meeting in 1945, held at Woodward Avenue Baptist Church, Detroit, when the Council in 

session authorized the formation of the new District. 


The ministers and delegates of the Michigan area met in a separate session, electing Charles W. 

H. Scott as Superintendent, and Bernard L. Bresson as Assistant Superintendent. Mrs. Everett D. 

Cooley was appointed Secretary/Treasurer. Charles W. H. Scott ministered as District 

Superintendent until he was elected in 1957 to serve as one of the Assistant General 

Superintendents at the National Headquarters.  


Originally the geographical area of the District was confined to the lower peninsula of the State 

of Michigan. In 1966 the counties of Luce, Chippewa and Mackinac, originally part of the 

Wisconsin-Northern Michigan District, were added to the Michigan District. 


Starting with 156 ministers, 90 churches, $2,000.00 in cash, and an old desk and file inherited 

from the Central District, the newly formed Michigan District was on its way.  


The first District Office was established at 404 West Saratoga, Ferndale. Since then, the office 

has been located in Ypsilanti, Farmington Hills and is currently located in Brighton Michigan. 


Faholo Camp and Conference Center - Grass Lake, Michigan, has been the site of the State’s 

camp programs even before the inception of the District. A second camp site, Lost Valley Bible 

Camp, located east of Gaylord, was acquired in 1963. 


Originally, the District’s corporate name was the Michigan District Council; however, in 1962 the 

District voted to change its name to Assemblies of God, Michigan District. In 2022 the District 

again voted to change its name to Assemblies of God Michigan Ministry Network.    


The Michigan Ministry Network currently has 872 ministers and 252 churches. The Network is 

divided into twelve fellowship Sections with an elected Presbyter and Assistant Presbyter for 

each Section.  


To God be the glory for growth and development of the Network. Success in the Michigan 

Ministry Network is attributed to God’s help and blessing, as well as the good fellowship and 

teamwork of all our ministers. 



Members of the District Officiary who served the Michigan District: 



Charles W.H. Scott 1944-1957​

Everett D. Cooley 1957-1969​

P. Bond Bowman 4/69-9/69​

Parvin C. Lee 1969-1973​

Thomas E. Trask 1973-1976​

Ivar A. Frick 1976-1988​

William F. Leach 1988-2015​

R. Jeffrey Hlavin 2015-2021 

Aaron M. Hlavin 2021 – 


Assistant Superintendents 

Bernard L. Bresson 1945-1950​

P. Bond Bowman 1950-1952, 1956-1959​

Parvin C. Lee 1952-1956, 1959-1969​

Gene S. Hogan 1969-1980​

Louie Callaway 1981-1985​

Thomas E. Trask 1986-1988​

M. Wayne Benson 1988-1990​

Norman W. Muhling 1990-1994​

M. Wayne Benson 1994-2000​

David R. Williams 2000-2015​

Bradley T. Trask 2015- 



Mrs. E.D. Cooley 1945-1948​

Donald G. Foote 1948-1952​

Malachi R. Cook 1952-1953​

Everett D. Cooley 1953-1957​

Orie L. Robinson 1958-1963​

Fred Smolchuck Sr. 1964-1982​

Ernest W. Zilch 1983-1994​

Norman W. Muhling 1994-2008​

R. Jeffrey Hlavin 2008-2015​

Curtis W. Dalaba 2015-2020 

Brooks T. McElhenny 2020 – 

bottom of page